Travel Like a Local: Win Like a Traveling Mom with Residence Inn

by DiPaola Momma (HNIC) on September 27, 2012

I’m the child of Midwestern Hippies (okay mom, “Flower Children”… pffft). Wandering souls who made the trek west to settle in the Golden State and whom took the lyrics of, “This Land Is Your Land”, quite literally. Is it any wonder that I’m game to back up the wagons and hit the trail with the brood at a moments notice? I’ve got that travel bug gang, and I don’t want a cure.

What I do want though, is to blend in with the natives no matter where we land. The first thing I do when traveling is hit up the front desk and make it VERY clear that the last thing I want to see at the shop, restaurant, or grocery they recommend is another tourist. Sometimes this works, other times you end up paying 30 Euro to cab it across Florence and have dinner at “local favorite” filled with 45 other hungry Americans.

Lucky for me I now have the collective awesome of the Traveling Moms as a resource, our friends at Residence Inn (shout out to my Residence Inn Moms Club crew) and the new Residence Inn Thrival Guide. The Thrival Guide is an awesome place share and gain that local insider info.

Come hang out on The Twitter with Yours Truly, a bunch of the Traveling Moms and the Bloggy Glitterati for the, Travel Like a Local Twitter party.

WHEN: October 1, 9-10 pm EDT (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @TravelingMoms @KimOrlando @CindyRichards @DebMomOf3 @chaotic_barb @verasweeney @maryheston @bloggymoms @Takingthekids @familytravel4um @ramblingstump @dipaolamomma @according2kelly @eightymphmom

HOW TO JOIN: Follow the hashtags #TMOM #RIThrival

PRIZES: We’ll be giving away three 2-night stays at a Residence Inn property of your choice.During your visit, you’ll stay in a one-bedroom spacious suite and enjoy Residence Inn’s complimentary daily breakfast. Trip must be completed within one year, by September 30, 2013. Subject to availability and blackout dates apply. Transportation, gratuities, incidentals and all other expenses not included.

To be eligible, you must:
1. RSVP by leaving your Twitter handle in the comment section below. (If you aren’t on Twitter, it’s easy—and free—to sign up. Go to www.twitter.com to see how.)

2. Have at least one tweet on the party from 9-10 pm EDT on October 1 (follow #RIThrival).

And don’t forget to check out the Traveling Mom, Travel Like a Local contest! You could win a 4-night stay at the Residence Inn of your choice along with a Marriott Platinum Rewards membership!

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: