The Cities of Holiday Lights

Glowing orbs of color would hover over the eaves of our house when I was a kid. Mom always does Christmas in a big way. She would coax dad to perch himself -precariously- atop a ladder and affix, what seemed to be the light bulb equivalent of all the stars in the Milky Way, to the house. Their transforming of our home into a twinkling wonderland was where the magic of the holidays began for me.

To this day their entire neighborhood, built mostly of Arts-And-Crafts period and Mission style homes, ring in the season with an awe inspiring display of white-paper luminaries that line every sidewalk and driveway for blocks. It saddens me that my littlest ones don’t get to see that, or hang out next to the block-party bonfire with the neighbors, pouring over scrapbooks filled with pictures of the luminaries dating back decades. I do try to bring some of the light into their holidays though. We drive through light displays here at home and love to see Baltimore all aglow with light. Being right between Baltimore and DC, can really be magical this time of year.

My mom installed more than lights (or made dad) at the holidays, she created wonder. Starting this year, I’m hoping to give my kids the same gift by visiting a new light display every season. With a little help from Traveling Mom we’ll start building our own scrapbooks. Click through this ezine of awesome and find lights of wonder near you!

UP DATE!!!! Want to WIN one of the hottest gifts on every list -an iPad Mini- PLUS also find out where to see the best holiday light displays in the country?

Join ME and at the TravelingMom Twitter party Monday night to talk about holiday lights and holiday travel, sponsored by FlightCenter.com, DiscountCruises.com and HotCaribbeanDeals.com. There are lots of ways to enter so read on!

WHEN: December 10, 9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @TravelingMoms @KimOrlando @DebMomOf3 @familytravel4um @TakingTheKids @CindyRichards

AND yours truly ME… aka @Dipaolamomma

WHAT: Twitter party – Holiday Lights and Travel

HOW TO JOIN: Follow the hashtags #TMOM #52Lights

SPONSORS: @FlightCenterUSA, @DiscCruisesUSA, @HotCaribDeals

PRIZES: iPad Mini (16GB)

To be eligible, you must go to Traveling Mom and register there.

One thought on “The Cities of Holiday Lights”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge